POTD: Dark Shadows

Title and Location

Dark Shadows

Location: Upper Antelope Canyon, Page, Arizona
Camera: Phase One P30+, Mamiya 645D, 55-110mm

As you have probably noticed, I enjoy photographing in slot canyons and have several in my portfolio.  This shadowy image was photographed in Upper Antelope Canyon.

While the lower canyon is anything but flat, the upper canyon is completely flat with all the sculptured sandstone above you.  My camera was literally pointing straight up.  The upper canyon is also extremely busy.  During a 20 second exposure, you may have 10 or 20 people squeeze past you in the narrow canyon walkways.  I reshot this image nearly a dozen times before I got an exposure without someone bumping into my tripod.

The deep shadowed figure is known as monument valley because it resembles a butte in the desert.  To me it looked like “Batman” so I used a longer focal length to highlight it in my composition and lowered the exposure to leave it almost black.

All images of the day are available as limited edition artwork.  Click here for more information or to purchase a print.

Leave a Reply

